Monday, July 22
GettyImages 1678696801

Photo -

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: England Reveals Their 15-Member Squad for the ODI Tournament

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: the 15-player squad for the tournament has undergone one alteration compared to the preliminary squad initially disclosed by the England Cricket Board.

Cricket World Cup 2023: England Names Their Final 15-Man Squad

The England Cricket Board made a significant announcement on Sunday by revealing their final 15-man squad for the upcoming 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup set to take place in India, commencing on October 5. England holds the distinction of being the first among the ten participating teams to confirm their 15-player roster for the ODI World Cup.

This announcement follows the conclusion of the England vs. New Zealand ODI series, where the Jos Buttler-led team secured a convincing 3-1 victory over the visiting New Zealand side.

Notably, England has opted to include Harry Brook in the 15-player World Cup squad, resulting in the omission of Jason Roy, who was initially part of the 15-man provisional squad announced earlier. Jason Roy did not make an appearance in any of the ODI matches against New Zealand.

Luke Wright, the England Men’s National Selector, expressed confidence in the squad’s ability to excel in India, stating, “We have selected a squad we are confident can go to India and win the World Cup. We are blessed with an incredibly strong group of white-ball players, which was underlined by the performances in the series win against a very good New Zealand team.” Wright acknowledged the squad’s exceptional depth and the necessity of making difficult decisions, including the exclusion of a world-class player like Jason Roy and the inclusion of Harry Brook.

England’s ODI World Cup Squad for 2023:

  1. Jos Buttler (Captain)
  2. Moeen Ali
  3. Gus Atkinson
  4. Jonny Bairstow
  5. Harry Brook
  6. Sam Curran
  7. Liam Livingstone
  8. Dawid Malan
  9. Adil Rashid
  10. Joe Root
  11. Ben Stokes
  12. Reece Topley
  13. David Willey
  14. Mark Wood
  15. Chris Woakes

As of September 17, the provisional squads for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 have been declared by the following teams:

  1. England (final squad confirmed)
  2. India
  3. South Africa
  4. Australia
  5. Netherlands
  6. New Zealand
  7. Afghanistan

The remaining three teams, namely Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, still have approximately 11 days remaining to announce their 15-player provisional squads. According to ICC regulations, all ten participating teams are required to unveil their 15-player squads by September 28. After this date, any replacements can only be made with approval from the ICC board.